Local Search Engine Marketing Blog

What Happens When the Social Media Guy Gets Banned From Facebook

Posted in Internet marketing by smallbusinessonlinecoach on January 8, 2012

http://www.portent.com/images/2011/12/facebook-pic.jpg
I found this post interesting and I thought I’d share here:
I like to share interesting posts and information about internet marketing that read in my Google reader. Let me sort through the junk to bring you the real goods when comes to local internet marketing for small businesses. I thought this was super useful. if you like it be sure to share maybe subscribe to the authors blog: http://www.portent.com

Facebook Warning

Today, I received this lovely message from Facebook.

I know what you’re thinking. What did straight-edge Doug do to anger his favorite social network? The short answer is that I posted a cartoon of two people having sex while making status updates on their phones with the caption, “Looks like this is the new definition of cyber sex.”

OK, that sounds bad, but keep in mind this post was on a client’s Facebook page that markets lubricants and other products to enhance sexual pleasure for women after menopause. Plus, it was pretty funny if I do say so myself.

Why Did I Get Banned By Facebook

For the record, I’ll agree that my post did straddle the line presented in their community standards. It was a cartoon, but it did allude to the existence of sexual intercourse.

Facebook Rules on Sex

The real question should be: why did I get caught?

Another Portintite co-worker found this image on Facebook, which was posted by a friend of hers. After the client approved the idea of posting this picture on their Facebook page, it went live around 12:00 p.m. PST and generated more traffic than any other post on the client’s wall. It was popular, but tons of sexually explicit Facebook posts are popular and they don’t get shut down by the big bad Zuck.

What really tipped of Facebook was when the Facebook advertising campaign we were running for the client pulled in the risky image as a page post ad, which means it used the latest page update as an advertisement.

What We Should All Learn From This

We all have to walk the line between hilarious/interesting and offensive from time to time and I’m fine with causing a little controversy. However, if you don’t want Facebook finding out about your controversial posts, don’t advertise them.

My Facebook ban isn’t that serious. They pulled my post down from my client’s Facebook page and they have disabled my ability to create any updates for the next 24 hours.

Do you think I should have been banned for this image?

Censored Dirty Sexy Picture

http://www.portent.com/blog/social-media-marketing/what-happens-when-the-social-media-guy-gets-banned-from-facebook.htm?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+portentinteractive+%28Portent+Interactive%2C+Seattle%2C+WA%29) Don’t forget to comment and subscribe to the authors blog.

Leave a Reply

