Local Search Engine Marketing Blog

Busy Work Is Not Profitable Work

Posted in Internet marketing by smallbusinessonlinecoach on July 31, 2012

http://www.thenewbiehelper.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/cat-videos.jpg
I found this post interesting and I thought I’d share here:
I like to share interesting posts and information about internet marketing that read in my Google reader. Let me sort through the junk to bring you the real goods when comes to local internet marketing for small businesses. I thought this was super useful. if you like it be sure to share maybe subscribe to the authors blog: http://www.thenewbiehelper.com

Tweet

We all get the same number of hours in a day, we all need to eat and sleep and go the toilet so that can take some time up. But what do you do in the hours that are left to you? It is so easy to spend your day online reading SEO blogs, checking links people put in twitter, checking Facebook and Google Plus (especially Star Wars Tuesday) and suddenly it is lunch time and you have done nothing productive.

This morning I spent 20 minutes clearing my desk. Now that may sound like a waste of time but I found it really enjoyable as my daughter has obviously been coming into my office and slipping drawings she did in between the reports and things I have printed out and stacked on my desk. So clearing my desk went from a painful experience to one that really made me smile. But it was not Profitable Work

ooh Look Dancing Cats

Busy Work Is Not Profitable Work
This is a tough balancing act for many of us as we do need to keep up with news and stuff in our markets. However, looking at cat videos, the latest video of Bob Ross (which is superb by the way) and entering into disagreements on forums about which is the best film series with the word Star in the title is not earning you money.

Knowing which threads in forums to comment on and which to walk away from is tough, it is so easy to get sucked into a time wasting back and forth which helps none of you make any money.

Limit Yourself
Get a timer on your pc, or get one that will stand on your desk and set it for 10/20/30 mins and that is the time you allocate to certain tasks. If you like to look at forums in the morning that is fine, just use a timer so your morning doesn’t stretch to being all day.

Turn It Off
I look at twitter and then turn it off, because when it is on all day and notifying you of the latest messages it is just too tempting to go look at them. One becomes two, becomes three etc etc.

The same applies to Skype and even email, if you turn it off then you can not be disturbed by it. They are tools of your business but when you are not using them, turn them off.

One Thing At A Time
This is the hardest thing for me to do. I recently wrote a new report explaining a method I used to make $400 – http://thenewbiehelper.com/wso/ – The thing is it is one of 3 reports I have rolling around in my head. It is so tempting to write the other two right away but the only way to earn money from a report is to sell it. If all you do is write the report and never do the sales page and never tell anyone about it then you will never make money.

Having 3 unfinished projects on your hard drive will not earn you a penny. I can not guarantee much in life but I can guarantee that. Work on one thing at a time and finish it, it does not have to be super perfect (that is another issue, people don’t ever release things coz they feel they are never perfect)

Time Management Is A Pain
Yes it is, I hate being reminded that I need to finish things. I hate that buzzer, I hate wondering if I have 20 emails waiting for me. I love to spend hours floating through the net..

However ..and this is a big one..I have made more money selling the products I finished than the ones I didn’t finish. I make more money from sites I finish and promote than ones I don’t.

If you treat your online time like a business then you will appreciate time management is. If you had a team member who was sitting watching cat videos and funny Star Wars films for 3 hours a day you would be annoyed, so why do you expect less of yourself.

This is a business
Treat it like one and your income will grow. Ok now stop reading this and go do some work on your business!

Tweet

http://www.thenewbiehelper.com/busy-work-is-not-profitable-work/) Don’t forget to comment and subscribe to the authors blog.

Leave a Reply

